Criminal Justice Council


The current members of the Criminal Justice Council are:

President: Chief Justice, James Lewis KC

Chair: Senior Magistrate, Sarah Whitby

Secretary: Head of Courts & Tribunals, Emma Fulton

Law Commisioner, Ros Cheek

Attorney General, Simon Young

Chief of Police, Jeff McMahon

Probation Officer, Nicola Robinson

Derek Clarke JP

Dick Sawle JP

Alison Inglis

Phil Axon

Steve Dent

Laura Bennett


Conduct of Members

Members of the Council are expected to observe the following principles:

  • Selflessness - Holders of public office should take decisions solely in terms of the public interest. They should not do so in order to gain financial or other material benefits for themselves, their families or their friends.
  • Integrity - Holders of public office should not place themselves under any financial or other obligation to outside individuals or organisations that might influence them in the performance of their official duties.
  • Objectivity - In carrying out public business, including making public appointments, awarding contracts or recommending individuals for rewards and benefits, holders of public office should make choices on merit.
  • Accountability - Holders of public office are accountable for their decisions and actions to the public and must submit themselves to whatever scrutiny is appropriate to their office.
  • Openness - Holders of public office should be as open as possible about all the decisions and actions that they take. They should give reasons for their decisions and restrict information only when the wider public interest clearly demands.
  • Honesty - Holders of public office have a duty to declare any private interests relating to their public duties and to take steps to resolve any conflicts arising in a way that protects the public interest.
  • Leadership - Holders of public office should promote and support these principles by leadership and example.